Pullman Is Carnegie Champ

Philip Pullman has won the Carnegie of Carnegies where people had the chance to vote for their favorite Carnegie winner.  This was done in celebration of the 70th anniversary of the Carnegie Awards.  Pullman’s Northern Lights (known in the US as The Golden Compass) got 40% of the total votes. 

Here are the titles that were in contention:

Skellig by David Almond (1998)
Junk by Melvin Burgess (1996)
Storm by Kevin Crossley-Holland (1985)
A Gathering Light by Jennifer Donnelly (2003)
The Owl Service by Alan Garner (1967)
The Family From One End Street by Eve Garnett (1937)
The Borrowers by Mary Norton (1952)
Tom’s Midnight Garden Philiby ppa Pearce (1958)
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (1995)