39 Clues

The New York Times has an announcement from Scholastic about what they hope will be their next hit series.  The new series is called The 39 Clues and will be a series of 10 books, each written by a different author, but following a single story arc. 

The first book, The Maze of Bones, was written by Rick Riordan.  Gordon Korman has been signed to write book 2, Peter Lerangis to write book 3, and Jude Watson to write book 4.  Riordan is also responsible for the overall story outline. 

The series will have a strong online component as well as collectible cards. 

The Maze of Bones will be released in September 2008 with consecutive books following every few months.