This Week’s Tweets and Pins

Here are the links I shared on my Twitter and Pinterest accounts this week that you might find interesting:

CHILDREN’S BOOKS

The 15 Greatest Kid Detectives | Jordan B. Nielsen http://buff.ly/14q17hS #kidlit

Best Old fashioned Children’s Books Set on a Farm : PragmaticMom http://buff.ly/13APYIj #kidlit

bookshelves of doom: Readalikes: Percy Jackson. http://buff.ly/13AOGx1 #kidlit

#CallingCaldecott: How to read a picture book in 9 easy steps. Awesome and hilarious. http://ow.ly/oMjm0

‘Dear Dumb Diary’ author announces new movie | Observer and Eccentric Newspapers and Hometown Weeklies http://buff.ly/13AOVYO

Edward Carey’s top 10 writer/illustrators | Children’s books http://buff.ly/15Qgeeq #kidlit

Five questions for David Wiesner – The Horn Book http://buff.ly/13H5L8u #kidlit

My Favorite Children’s Books | Cynthia Voigt http://buff.ly/17sQSHF #kidlit

EBOOKS

E-readers: the best way to get the world’s children reading | Technology | The Observer http://buff.ly/1fQIbZm #ebooks #reading

Expanding Privacy Legislation to Include Ebooks | American Libraries Magazine http://buff.ly/1dWn7nF #privacy #ebooks

New Birmingham Library Atrium, 2013. At 31,000 sqm it is the largest public library in Europe. The ten-level library will share with the Birmingham Repertory Theatre a spacious entrance and foyer as well as a flexible studio theatre seating 300 people. The library houses world-class collections of archives, photography and rare books. WoW!

LIBRARIES

BiblioTech Digital Library Opens this Week http://buff.ly/181CSkW #libraries

The Cost of Censorship in Libraries: 10 Years Under the Children’s Internet Protection Act | EFF https://www.eff.org/deeplinks/2013/09/cost-censorship-libraries-10-years-under-childrens-internet-protection-act … #libraries

MAKE | A Librarian’s Guide to Boosting the Maker Movement http://buff.ly/1fQIEL2 #libraries

Morrison’s ‘Bluest Eye’ Joins Wide Range of Books Challenged in Alabama Schools | School Library Journal http://buff.ly/1dZ9mFF

RT @meghandrrns Guys Netflix for books is already a real thing, it is called a library, and you would not believe the low low monthly price, okay, bye.

RT @theREALwikiman – I want to hold up a sign that says LIBRARIANS: Google is absolutely fine for 99% of things. Find other ways to be useful.

Talking about Tablets: Lawrence Public Library (KS) http://buff.ly/15JTkFA #libraries

Teen Read Week – Seek the Unknown @ your library! Teen Read Week, Oct. 13-19 http://buff.ly/1dWncrz #yalit #libraries

Yup. One after another.

READING

15 Fabulous Bookish Pinterest Boards http://buff.ly/1fQIK5s #books #reading

40 Hidden Artworks Painted on the Edges of Books «TwistedSifter http://buff.ly/1fWJWEk #books

Broader, Better Literary Conversations | The Nation http://buff.ly/1dXTRNt #diversity #books #authors

Old English Demonstrated By British College Students Using Famous Movie Scenes http://buff.ly/1eHrX6W

The U.S. Illiteracy Rate Hasn’t Changed In 10 Years http://buff.ly/15dvGWu #literacy

TECHNOLOGY

Google is preparing for screenless computers – Quartz http://buff.ly/19BN6f8

N.S.A. Able to Foil Basic Safeguards of Privacy on Web http://buff.ly/1dZqnPX #privacy

TEEN LIT

Beautiful Creatures Authors to Write Spinoff Series http://buff.ly/17ZOULN #yalit

Book Trade Announcements – David Almond – One In A Million For Hodder Children’s Books http://buff.ly/181CG5h #kidlit #yalit

Ellen Hopkins talks ‘Smoke’, the much-anticipated sequel to ‘Burned’ | Shelf Life http://buff.ly/1edWVpG #yalit

I can’t think of a better read to start your day or to take a break than the chat between @CBethM and @JoKnowles http://nerdybookclub.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/crying-mentors-read-alouds-and-revision-a-nerdybookclub-interview-with-jo-knowles-and-cindy-minnich/ …

Interview: Gene Yang Talks Boxers & Saints | GeekDad http://buff.ly/1eewxMv #yalit

Librarians Love: Books with Girls Passing as Boys | The Hub http://www.yalsa.ala.org/thehub/2013/09/05/librarians-love-books-with-girls-passing-as-boys/ … #yalit

Real girls – The Horn Book http://buff.ly/14y0nBU #yalit

Unpacking why adults read young adult fiction – Malinda Lo http://buff.ly/1eeteoi #yalit

YA Authors Who Have Also Been Behind Your TV Screens http://buff.ly/15JcWtp #yalit