Jane Addams Children's Book Awards

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards are given each year to children’s books that “effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.”  In other words, they are an award that will lead you to books that are often amazing, powerful and oh so worthwhile. 

The 2007 winners are:

Books for Younger Children:

A Place Where Sunflowers Grow
by Amy-Lee Tai, illustrated by Felicia Hoshino.

Books for Older Children:

Weedflower by Cynthia Kadohata.

The website offers a list of the four honor books as well.  Enjoy!

LA Times Book Prize

The LA Times Book Prize for YA Literature goes to:

Tyrell by Coe Booth (another one buried in my TBR pile!)

The other finalists were:

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation by MT Anderson.
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Just in Case by Meg Rosoff
Rules of Survival by Nancy Werlin (one of my favorites of the year)