2013 Scott O’Dell Award

Scott O'Dell Award

The Scott O’Dell Award is given to the author of a distinguished work of historical fiction for young people that is published by a US publisher and set in the Americas.  This year’s winner is:


Louise Erdrich for Chickadee

Erdrich also won in 2006 for The Game of Silence, another book in her Birchbark House series.

Tip of the hat to The Horn Book for the announcement.