Review: Wait! Wait! by Hatsue Nakawaki

wait wait

Wait! Wait! by Hatsue Nakawaki, illustrated by Komako Sakai

Translated from the Japanese, this little book is perfect for busy toddlers.  It follows some time in a toddler’s day when they move from one distraction to the next.  First, there is the butterfly fluttering past that won’t wait.  Then the lizard on the sidewalk slithers off without waiting.  Then come pigeons and next cats.  Finally, the little child is scooped up by a grown up and carried off on their shoulders with obvious delight.

This simple little book captures so nicely the speed of a toddler’s thoughts and the way that they can keep so busy with new discoveries in their day.  There is a wonderful gentleness to the book, where the animals and then the adult are just as much fun and intriguing as one another.  At the same time, there is a sense of discovery and awe as each new creature is found.

The text is very simple with the title repeated throughout and then one additional sentence added for each creature.  The illustrations shine.  They are wonderfully organic with textures while the colors remain subtle and natural. 

This book begs to be shared with one little child at a time, so that the animals can be identified and new discoveries of their own can be shared.  Appropriate for ages 1-3.

Reviewed from copy received from Enchanted Lion.

Review: The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail by Richard Peck

mouse with the question mark tail

The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail by Richard Peck

I thoroughly enjoyed Peck’s first mouse characters in Secrets at Sea, so I looked forward to meeting more whiskered characters in this new book.  The two books are unrelated except for Peck’s elaborate mouse society which has the same charm as The Borrowers or The Littles.  In this book, we meet a little mouse who really doesn’t even have a name.  He has no idea where he came from, but he is now cared for by his Aunt Marigold who is the Head Needlemouse in the Royal Mews in London.  He is sent to school at the Royal Mews Mouse Academy, where he is quickly bullied by bigger mice.  Finally, he ruins all of his prospects by appearing in front of a human wearing clothing.  Now he has to find his own way, his destiny and his past. 

Peck weaves a fine adventure in this book.  The romp of mishaps and close scrapes make for fun reading as does the mystery of this little mouse’s past.  Add to that the appeal of being near royalty, even speaking directly with Queen Victoria herself, and you have a book where you never know what is going to happen next. 

The writing is skilled and detailed.  Peck offers action enough for any book but also builds a wonderful second, shadow society with the mice too.  There is just enough detail to tantalize and clearly visualize the world, but not so much that the story slows.  In fact, the pacing here is superb.

Fans of Stuart Little and The Borrowers will enjoy discovering life in the Royal Mews and a little nameless mouse with a big destiny.  Appropriate for ages 7-10.

Reviewed from ARC received from Dial.

This Week’s Tweets & Pins

Here are the links I shared on my Twitter and Pinterest accounts this week that you might find interesting:

CHILDREN’S BOOKS

Get your kids involved in their reading with these 12 best interactive books! (via Hands on as we Grow)

Jeremy Strong’s top 10 funniest fictional families | Children’s books http://buff.ly/132acKw #kidlit

Leigh Bardugo’s top 10 childhood reads | Books http://buff.ly/12oACBL #kidlit

Making your writing the best it can be: top tips from children’s books editors | Children’s books http://buff.ly/15joepz

We’re Going On a Bear Hunt games for your teddy bear’s picnic | Children’s books http://buff.ly/15jxDxu #kidlit

Why Do Kids’ Books Matter? Here, Look – Steven Heller – The Atlantic http://buff.ly/15jEas3 #kidlit

The Wildest Children’s Books of 2013 — @100scopenotes 100 Scope Notes http://buff.ly/18bviuz #kidlit

EBOOKS

Apple Violated Antitrust Law By Conspiring To Raise eBook Prices, Judge Rules http://buff.ly/12rjjQz #ebooks

Does E-Reading Change the Way You Read? http://buff.ly/1dnPPsP #ebooks #reading

Dutch public libraries are commencing a test case on e-lending http://buff.ly/189qDJM #ebooks

The Future of Books: Library Apps http://buff.ly/1b3WT0U #ebooks #libraries

LEADERSHIP

The Network Secrets of Great Change Agents – Harvard Business Review http://buff.ly/1dnOrqi

Fairytale Portraits Blur Lines Between Reality and Fiction

LIBRARIES

NEWS: A bill would help libraries help job seekers – Library Worklife: http://buff.ly/1dnPqqx #libraries

Understanding Social Capital | American Libraries Magazine http://buff.ly/12pw4jk #libraries

Why public libraries should follow Chicago’s lead and build maker labs — Tech News and Analysis http://buff.ly/15wpd8l

Yup.

SOCIAL MEDIA

11 Unique Ways to Boost Your Social Sharing with Buffer | Search Engine Journal http://buff.ly/1b3Y00K

Google Reader post-mortem: The death of the API, the rise of the all-in-one, and the return of the RSS reader – http://buff.ly/12eqpYC

Why Twitter Finally Killed The “Auto Follow” For Good | TechCrunch http://buff.ly/15u1HsD

TEEN LIT

Judy Blume is awesome: The author stands up for kids fighting censorship in Chicago. http://buff.ly/132g2vv

Patrick Ness@Patrick_Ness 9 JulI believe that if you don’t engage with darkness, you’re leaving a teen alone to face it by themselves. I think THAT’s the amoral position.

Yes.