2021 Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards

The Jane Addams Children’s Book Award is given annually and “recognizes children’s books of literary and aesthetic excellence that effectively engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people.” Selected from 26 finalists, here are the winners and the honor books for 2021:


A Wish in the Dark by Christina Soontornvat


We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom, illustrated by Michaela Goade


Black Is a Rainbow Color by Angela Joy, illustrated by Ekua Holmes

Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote by Veronica Chambers and the Staff of the New York Times

Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Ocean Speaks: How Marie Tharp Revealed the Ocean’s Biggest Secret by Jess Keating, illustrated by Katie Hickey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s