2019 Charlotte Zolotow Award

The Cooperative Children’s Book Center (CCBC) has announced the winner and honor books for the 2019 Charlotte Zolotow Award, given for outstanding writing in a picture book. Here is the winner and the list of highly commended books:


Little Brown

Little Brown by Marla Frazee



34362953 Carmela Full of Wishes

A Big Mooncake for Little Star by Grace Lin

Carmela Full of Wishes by Matt de la Pena, illustrated by Christian Robinson

The Day You Begin Dreamers

The Day You Begin by Jacqueline Woodson, illustrated by Rafael Lopez

Dreamers by Yuyi Morales

The Patchwork Bike 35887584

The Patchwork Bike by Maxine Beneba Clarke, illustrated by Van Thanh Rudd

The Rough Patch by Brian Lies

Thank You, Omu! 36341954

Thank You, Omu! by Oge Mora

We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins

Winter Is Here

Winter Is Here by Kevin Henkes, illustrated by Laura Dronzek