2021 Ezra Jack Keats Award

Celebrating its 35th anniversary this year, the 2021 winners and honor books of the Ezra Jack Keats Award have been announced. The award is celebrates “exceptional early career authors and illustrators for portraying the multicultural nature of our world in the spirit of Ezra Jack Keats.” Here are this year’s winners:


Nana Akua Goes to School by Tricia Elam Walker, illustrated by April Harrison


Brick by Brick by Heidi Woodward Sheffield


Can Bears Ski? by Raymond Antrobus, illustrated by Polly Dunbar

The Old Truck by Jarrett and Jerome Pumphrey


I’m Sticking with You, illustrated by Steve Small, written by Smriti Prasadam-Halls

Cyclops of Central Park, illustrated by Victoria Tentler Krylov, written by Madelyn Rosenberg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s