Review–Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton

darknessbecomesher

Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton

Ari has always stood out with her silver hair and teal eyes.  Now after years in foster care, she is on a quest to discover what happened to her parents.  Her long-dead mother, who committed suicide, left her a message.  Run!  Ari heads to New 2, what has become of New Orleans after several devastating hurricanes and after some wealthy families purchased the land from the United States to make their own domain.  It is where Ari was born and where she must return to learn the answers about not only her parents but herself.  When she reaches New 2, Ari finds a place that accepts people who are very unique and different, like herself.  For the first time ever, she feels she might have found a place she can belong in and maybe even love in.

Keaton writes with a beautiful clarity, creating a setting and characters that are vivid and compelling.  Ari is a protagonist that teens will relate to easily.  She is deadly, fascinating and unique.  Her voice is strong, her actions make sense, and the truth about her is a delight to discover.

One of the strongest characters in the book is New 2, the destroyed city that serves as a haven for the paranormal.  Keaton renders New 2 in prose that is filled with imagery, lovingly detailed and places readers right inside the city alongside Ari.  Those who know New Orleans will recognize it under the ruins, others will be drawn to the city in new ways.

With so many paranormal romances available, one grows jaded reading them.  Don’t make that mistake with this title which keeps the genre fresh and enjoyable.  Fans of Twilight and Hunger Games will find a well-written story to long after here.  Appropriate for ages 14-17.

Reviewed from copy received from Simon Pulse.

Here is the book trailer:

Book Review–Press Here: A Fresh, Simple, Marvelous Idea

PressHere

Press Here by Herve Tullet

Press the dot on the cover and launch yourself into a journey where a book responds to your touch without any flaps, popups or electronics.  Follow the directions on each page, turn the page and see what happens next!  This is a book that is so simple in concept and beautifully executed in design.  Readers will enjoy making the dots big by clapping their hands, moving the dots around the page by shaking the book, and turning off the lights by pushing the yellow dots hard.  This is a simple, beautiful book that shows us that the pleasure of reading is universal.

Hand this to any child and they will grin as the pages turn.  While this won’t work for a group of children, it is an ideal book for a handful to share or for a parent to share with a child.  Toddlers especially will enjoy this book and the effect they have on it.  This book is pure delight.

Get your hands on this one to see for yourself, or take a look at the video below to see more of the pages in the hands of children.  Appropriate for ages 2-5.

 

Also reviewed by: