Day: November 19, 2014

Review: Dory Fantasmagory by Abby Hanlon

dory fantasmagory

Dory Fantasmagory by Abby Hanlon

Dory is the youngest in her family and her older siblings won’t play with her at all.  So she is left to play on her own and thanks to her great imagination, Dory has a lot of fun.  Dory has a best friend, Mary, a monster who sleeps under her bed and is always willing to play.  There are also other monsters all over their house.  When Dory continues to bother her brother and sister, they make up a story about Mrs. Gobble Gracker, a horrible woman who steals baby girls and is looking for Dory!  So when the doorbell rings, Dory knows it is Mrs. Gobble Gracker coming for her.  Hopefully the little man who says he’s her fairy godmother will be able to help defeat her.  In the end though it is Dory’s own creativity and bravery that will save her and maybe even get her siblings to play too.

Hanlon brilliantly captures the wild imagination of a little girl who doesn’t slow down for a minute, zinging from one idea to the next even as those around her groan.  Dory could have been a problematic character, but thanks to the book being told from her point of view, readers will get to see how strong a person she is long before she displays it to her family.

Hanlon’s art makes this a book that younger readers will happily pick up and read.  Her black and white illustrations are more than paragraph breaks, they show the story of Dory and all of the characters she dreams up over the course of the day.  On the page, we see what Dory sees, not what her family doesn’t see and it’s quite a world that she has created.

Fast moving, wild and full of laughs, this book is a dynamic introduction to a fresh new face that will appeal to fans of Junie B, Jones.  Appropriate for ages 6-8.

Reviewed from copy received from Dial.

NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books

The National Science Teachers Association has announced their choices for Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12 from books published in 2014.  Here are the winning books:

Abayomi, the Brazilian Puma: The True Story of an Orphaned cub 18319630

Abayomi, the Brazillian Puma by Darcy Pattison

About Habitats: Forests by Cathryn Sill

20729500 jacket image for Amazing Giant Sea Creatures by -  DK Publishing

About Parrots by Cathryn Sill

Amazing Giant Sea Creatures

Animalium Animals That Make Me Say Ouch! (National Wildlife Federation): Fierce Fangs, Stinging Spines, Scary Stares, and More Animals That Make Me Say Wow! (National Wildlife Federation): Secret Hideaways, Infrasonic Hearing, Bubble Gills, and More

Animalium by Jenny Broom

Animals That Make Me Say OUCH! by Dawn Cusick

Animals That Make Me Say WOW! by Dawn Cusick

At Home in Her Tomb A Baby Elephant in the Wild

At Home in Her Tomb by Christine Liu-Perkins

A Baby Elephant in the Wild by Caitlin O’Connell

Batman Science Set 20256559

Batman Science by Tammy Enz and Agnieszka Biskup

Beetle Busters by Loree Griffin Burns

Behold the Beautiful Dung Beetle Beneath the Sun

Behold the Beautiful Dung Beetle by Cheryl Bardoe

Beneath the Sun by Melissa Stewart

Bone Collection: Skulls Chasing Cheetahs: The Race to Save Africa's Fastest Cat

Bone Collection: Skulls by Rob Scott Colson

Chasing Cheetahs by Sy Montgomery and Nic Bishop

jacket image for Knowledge Encyclopedia Dinosaur! by -  DK Publishing  

Dinosaur!

Drones

Every Turtle Counts Extreme Laboratories

Every Turtle Counts by Sara Hoagland Hunter

Extreme Laboratories by Ann O. Squire

Eye to Eye: How Animals See The World Eyes Wide Open: Going Behind the Environmental Headlines

Eye to Eye by Steve Jenkins

Eyes Wide Open by Paul Fleischman

17870871 Full Speed Ahead!: How Fast Things Go

Feathers: Not Just for Flying by Melissa Stewart

Full Speed Ahead! by Cruschiform

Get the Scoop on Animal Puke!: From Zombie Ants to Vampire Bats, 251 Cool Facts about Vomit, Regurgitation, & More! Handle with Care: An Unusual Butterfly Journey

Get the Scoop on Animal Puke by Dawn Cusick

Handle with Care by Loree Griffin Burns

20256610 Neighborhood Sharks: Hunting with the Great Whites of California's Farallon Islands

Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Neighborhood Sharks by Katherine Roy

 

Next Time You See a Maple Seed by Emily Morgan

Ocean

18222688 Polar Bears and Penguins: A Compare and Contrast Book

Park Scientists by Mary Kay Carson

Polar Bears and Penguins by Katharine Hall

Sally Ride: Life on a Mission 18353949

Sally Ride by Sue Macy

Secrets of the Sky Caves by Sandra K. Athans

Sniffer Dogs: How Dogs (and Their Noses) Save the World 20518974

Sniffer Dogs by Nancy F. Castaldo

Star Stuff by Stephanie Roth Sisson

 Super Sniffers: Dog Detectives on the Job 

Super Human Encyclopedia

Super Sniffers by Dorothy Hinshaw Patent

The Griffin and the Dinosaur: How Adrienne Mayor Discovered a Fascinating Link Between Myth and Science 20256582

The Griffin and the Dinosaur by Marc Aronson and Adrienne Mayor

The Next Wave by Elizabeth Rusch

 Tiny Creatures: The World of Microbes Tooling Around

The Planets

Tiny Creatures by Nicola Davies

Tooling Around by Ellen Jackson

Ultimate Bodypedia: An Amazing Inside-Out Tour of the Human Body 18229546

Ultimate Bodypedia by Patricia Daniels

Wild about Bears by Jeannie Brett