2016 Hans Christian Andersen Awards

The shortlist for the 2-16 Hans Christian Andersen Awards has been announced.

The criteria used to assess the nominations included the aesthetic and literary quality as well as the freshness and innovation of the body of work; the ability to see the child’s point of view and to stretch their curiosity; and the continuing relevance of the works to children and young people. The Award is based on the entire body of work.

Here are the authors and illustrators on the shortlist:


Bronze and Sunflower The King Book-Black Door 黑门

Cao Wenxuan (China)

Elefanterne holdt hver gang med Tarzan Halli! Hallo! Så er der nye firkantede historier

Louis Jensen (Denmark)

Wer morgens lacht Anne Frank's Family

Mirjan Pressler (Germany)

Brothers: Life, Death, Truth Hou van mij: bijna alle gedichten en veel beelden 1984 - 2009

Ted van Lieshout (Netherlands)

The Giver (The Giver, #1) Number the Stars

Lois Lowry (USA)



In the Town All Year 'Round Definitely Not for Little Ones: Some Very Grimm Fairy-tale Comics

Rotraut Susanne Berner (Germany)

Pejman Rahimizadeh (Iran)

The River Oggi mi sento così

Alessandro Sanna (Italy)


Suzy Lee (Korea)

The Red Bird Groter dan een droom

Marit Tornqvist (Netherlands)